Users

You can add users in Spotlight, to grant access to the whole practice or specific organisations.

Adding Users

Add a user

Note: To add a user, you must be logged in as a user with the Practice Admin or Partner user role.

  1. From the main Spotlight screen open the Settings menu then choose Users.

    user roles settings users

  2. Click Add User, then enter the required information. The following options are available:

    • Name - Enter the name of the new user.
    • Email Address - Enter the user's email address. This must be an email address not already in use for any Spotlight account.
    • Location - If required, enter the user's location. If you enter a location, any organisations that this user adds to Spotlight also user this location.  You can change this setting if required.
    • User Role - Choose the required user role.
    • Can Access Templates (not available for Read Only users) - To allow the user to access the list of report templates, select this check box.
    • Can Manage Templates (Manager, Partner and Practice Admin only) - To allow the user to save report templates, and to give access to the practice-level Formula Gallery, select this check box.

  3. To create the user, click Save.  The user will receive an automated email with an invitation to use Spotlight. Once they have accepted the invitation, you can give them access to any existing organisations. 

Add or remove the user's access to organisation(s)

Single organisation access

  1. From the main Spotlight screen, locate the required organisation then click Manage Users.

    users manage users
  2. To give or remove access, select or clear the check box for the required user, then click Save.

Note: Only users with the Practice Admin, Partner and Manager user roles can add or remove user access to organisations. Partners and Managers must have access to the organisation in order to add or remove user access.


Multiple organisation access

  1. From the main Spotlight screen, open the Settings menu then choose Users.
  2. Click the required user, then to give or remove access, select or clear the check box for the organisations.



  3. To save the changes, click Save.

Note: Only users with the Practice Admin and Partner user roles can access the Users page. Administrators have access to all organisations and cannot be removed from any organisation.


User Roles and Permissions

Spotlight Reporting has five user roles:

ActionAdminPartnerManagerStandardRead Only
View/access organisations All Invited orgs only* Invited orgs only Invited orgs only Invited orgs only
View current and published reports Yes Yes Yes Yes Latest report only
Manage organisation
  • View/edit organisation settings

  • Invite customer care

  • Edit Reports

  • Publish Reports

  • Share reports with others
Yes Yes Yes Yes  
  • Add/remove users from organisation

  • Add/delete organisation
Yes Yes* Yes^    
Access templates If setting is enabled If setting is enabled If setting is enabled If setting is enabled  
Manage templates If setting is enabled If setting is enabled If setting is enabled    
Manage user accounts Yes Yes      
Access practice settings Yes Yes      
Edit and save organisation level formulae Yes Yes Yes Yes  
Edit and save practice level formulae If Manage Templates is enabled If Manage Templates is enabled If Manage Templates is enabled    
Billing* Yes        


Additional information

View/access organisations

*Partners can only see organisations they have access to in the main dashboard. However they can give themselves access to any organisation by going into Settings > Users.

Add/remove users from organisation

*Partners can add or remove users from any organisation by clicking on the user’s name in Settings > Users. They can also add or remove user access from any organisation to which the Partner has access, by clicking the Manage Users link under the organisation name.

^Managers can only add or remove users from an organisation that the Manager has access to.


Managing Users

Note: Only users with the Practice Admin and Partner user roles can manage user settings.

You can update user permissions and details at any time.

  1. From the main Spotlight screen open the Settings menu then choose Users.
  2. Click the name of the user, then change the settings as required. For information about the options available, please refer to the Add a user section.
  3. To save the changes, click Save.


Deleting Users

Note: Only users with the Practice Admin or Partner role can delete users.

  1. From the top right-hand corner of the main Spotlight screen open the Settings menu then choose Users.
  2. Click the name of the user, then in the window that appears, click Delete.


Changing a Password

To change your password:

  1. From the top right-hand corner of the Spotlight screen click Sign Out.
  2. On the login page, click the Forgot password? link.
  3. Enter the email address you use to log in to Spotlight, then click Email Reset Password Link.
  4. You will receive an email from Spotlight Reporting with a link to update your password.

If you haven’t found the answer to your query, you can also contact our support team.

 

Back to top

Release Notes - Terms of Use - Privacy Policy - Launch Application - Copyright © Spotlight Reporting 2017